CHAMPIONSHIP RESULTS
John Arceri (Huntington) dec. John Busiello (ESManor) 9-3
106- Alex Tanzman (Westhampton) pinned Steven Lee (WBabylon) 4:56
113- Nick Piccininni (WMelville) tech fall Mat Bradice (WmFloyd) 15-0
120- Travis Passero (ESManor) dec. Mike D'Angelo (Commack) 9-7
126- Mark West (Hauppauge) dec. Jimmy Leach (ESManor) 5-2
132- Matt Leshinger (Sayville) dec. Chris Mauriello (Haup) 7-3
138- Tommy Dutton (RockyPoint) dec. Tom Venier (Kings Park) 5-2
145- Brendan Dent (Connetquot) dec. Jackson Mordente (SachemEast) 3-1
152- Corey Rasheed (Longwood) pinned Erik Adon (East Islip) 1:50
160- Tyler Grimaldi (HillsWest) dec. Kevin Rodriguez (Pat-Medford) 7-2
170- Carlos Toribio (Brentwood) dec. Joe Piccolo (HillsWest) 10-5
182- Gio Santiago (SachemNorth) dec. Dan Fiorvanti (Commack) 8-1
195- Chris Chambers (East Islip) pinned Nick Weber (KPark) 2:32
220- Nick Lupi (Hunt) dec. Steven Mills (SachNorth) 3-2
285- Mike Hughes (SmithWest) pinned Anthony Puca (Hunt) :34

OSW Award: Mark West (Hauppauge) - 126 pounds
Most Pins: Michael Hughes (Smithtown West) - 285 pounds- 4 in 2:23

Team Scores:
Sachem East (156)
2. East Islip (138)
3. Rocky Point (118)
4. Brentwood (111)
5. Huntington (96.5)
6. Hauppauge (95.5)
7. Islip (94.5)
8. Hills West (89.5)
9. William Floyd (89)
10.Commack (88)
11.Eastport-South Manor (81.5)
12.Sachem North (80)
13.Walt Whitman (77)
14.Connetquot (73)
15.Patchogue-Medford (66)

                                      Pictures below...
John Arceri (Huntington)
Alex Tanzman (Westhampton Beach)
Nick Piccinnini (Ward Melville)
Travis Passaro (Eastport South Manor)
Mark West (Hauppauge)
Matt Leshinger (Sayville)
Tommy Dutton (Rocky Point)
Brendan Dent (Connetquot)
Corey Rasheed (Longwood)
Tyler Grimaldi (Hills West)
Carlos Toribio (Brentwood)
Gio Santiago (Sachem North)
Chris Chambers (East Islip)
Photo courtesy of photrens.com

     Sachem East HS won the Suffolk County Championship as they amassed 156 points to outdistance East Islip (138), Rocky Point (118), defending champion Brentwood (111) and Huntington who finished with 96.5 points. The Flaming Arrows were led by finalist Jackson Mordente (145) and six all-county matmen, including an impressive five bronze medalists.

     East Islip had a great showing as they finished as team runners-up and crowned one champion with unbeaten Chris Chambers (41-0, 100 career wins) as he pancaked his opponent for a stunning fall in the 195-pound class. A trio of Redmen finished in third place, Jesse Dellavecchia (41-1) at 99, Dennis Ferro (40-4) at 145 and Dan Hayden (37-3) at 285 pounds.

     Defending state champion sophomore Nick Piccininni of Ward Melville upped his season record to 39-0 with a 15-0 tech fall in the finals at 113 and former 2010 state winner Mark West (30-2) of Hauppauge won the tough 126 pound class, he  was voted both the OSW and Champion of Champions Awards.

     Reigning state finalists Corey Rasheed (30-0) of Longwood recorded four falls, three in the first period, en route to the 152-pound title and Tyler Grmaldi (37-1) of Hills West breezed to the 160-pound crown. Other defending champions that went unscathed were Alex Tanzman (33-1) of Westhampton Beach at 106, Matt Leshinger (41-1) of Sayville at 132, Gio Santiago (40-2) of Sachem North at 182 and pinner Michael Hughes (38-0, 29 falls) of Smithtown West at 285.

     Also winning county titles were Huntington teammates John Arceri (37-2) at 99 and Nick Lupi (31-1) at 220, ESM's Travis Passaro (45-3) who defeated Commack's Mike D'Angelo, 9-7, with a third period takedown, to win the 120-pound crown and sophomore standout Tommy Dutton (46-2) of Rocky Point at 138. Others were unbeaten Brendan Dent (37-0) of Connetquot at 145 and tough Carlos Toribio (39-1) of Brentwood in the 170-pound class.

Mat Notes...
  The last time a Sachem school won the county title was in 1992. Sachem East captured their first mat crown and coach Sean O'Hara has been at the helm for the past nine years. O'Hara was quick to credit his outstanding coaching staff of Issac Ramaswamy, David Cruz, Dom Messina and middle school coach Jim Holmgren. On winning the Suffolk title, O'Hara said: "It feels good and we won this tournament with a really special group of kids." Senior Conor O'Hara (coach O'Hara's nephew) became the winningest wrestler at the school with 151 career victories and battled back for a third place finish at 132 pounds.
   In the
Division II Championships, Mattituck upended defending three-time team champion Bayport-Blue-Point and were paced by three-time titlist Tomasc Filipowski (34-2) at 170. Div. II standouts include a pair of four-time champions, Michael Menser (113) of Center Moriches and BBP's Ryan Hake (150 career wins) at 145 pounds.