By Jim & Tony Nordland

     Connetquot garnered five champions among their ten finalists to win the Gray/Fitzgerald Holiday Tournament held at Sayville HS. Coach Bill Santoro, now in his 40th year, had the Thunderbirds ready for the early season test as they edged a strong Brentwood squad, 337.5 points to 301.5. Winning titles for the T-Birds were returning all-county matmen Stephen Drew (125) and Nick LoBue (160), along with Shaun Gillen (152), tough John Zullo (171) and Kenny Drew at 215 pounds. The Brentwood Indians were paced by All-State Alex Gomez (130), freshman Danny Murray (96), David Chaverra (135), Alexis Blanco (140) and Jared Hudson at 189.The host team Sayville claimed one champion, all-county Matt Leshinger who edged county placer Eric Orellana, with a third period takedown en route to an exciting 6-5 victory in the 112-pound class. The Golden Flashes finished in third place with 242 points. Earning the OSW Award was two-time Nassau County place-winner Will Montgomery (101-15 career) of Seaford. Montgomery used his underhook/ankle picks to post a solid 14-4 decision over Suffolk placer, junior Sean McCabe (97 career wins) of Connetqout to claim the 119-pound crown. Special thanks to Tournament Directors- Adam Brown and Phil Anzalone, along with photographer Peter Venier, for all their help in making the tournament run so smoothly...


Danny Murray (Brentwood) pinned Sean Miller (Connetquot), 3:01.
103- Steven Bair (Smithtown East) dec. Anthony Scaffedi (Conn), 4-3.
112- Matt Leshinger (Sayville) dec. Eric Orellana (Brent), 6-5.
119- Will Montgomerey (Seaford) maj. dec. Sean McCabe (Conn), 14-4.
125- Steven Drew (Conn) maj. dec. John Steiger (Miller Place), 10-0.
130- Alex Gomez (Brent) dec Humberto Garcia (Brent), 5-3.
135- Deavid Chaverra (Brent) dec. Zach Lugo (Deer Park), 6-3.
140- Alexis Blanco (Brent) dec. Eric Binder (SmithEast), 5-1.
145- John Rose (Bellport) maj. dec. Julien Joseph (Brent), 13-5.
152- Sean Gillen (Conn) dec. Casey O'Malley (SmithEast), 5-3 OT.
160- Nick LoBue (Conn) maj. dec. Ryan Harding (Seaf), 12-4.
171- John Zullo (Conn) pinned Rich Lugo (DPark), 2:48.
189- Jared Hudson (Brent) dec. Pat Falk (SmithEast) 5-0.
215- Kenny Drew (Conn) dec. Jean Stevenson (Brent) 5-0.
285- Reggie Sinclair (Bell) won by default over Dimas Berrios (Brent).

OSW Award- Will Montgomery (Seaford) - 119 pounds
Most Pins- Will Coveney (Miller Place) - 152 pounds - 4 in 14:14.