at East Islip HS

Brentwood HS (11-1) the top ranked team on Long Island edged Hauppauge HS (10-0) at the 13th annual Rocky Gilmore Classic Tournament. The Indians crowned five champions and were led by OSW winner Alex Gomez (19-1), who upset defending Suffolk champion Brandon Escobar (19-1), 6-2, for the 112-pound crown, 2006 county champion Ricardo Gomez (24-0) at 119, Mike Hernandez (160), Josue Mendez (171) and Jahsua Marsh at 215 pounds. The Eagles garnered four titles and were paced by state runner-up Stephen Dutton (17-0) and Kevin Pannebianco, declared co-champions at 130, Ken Collado (103),  third-seeded Eric Wooley (189) and co-champions; Scott Munro and Steven Marro at 285 pounds. Rocky Point HS (9-3) finished third place in the team standings, and top-ranked Matt Ross (20-1) won the 96-pound title. Two time state king, junior Paul Liguori (18-0,150-12 career mark) of Wantagh HS, dominated all four of his opponents en route to the 125-pound championship and teammate John Greisheimer (23-1) claimed the 145-pound crown. Central Islip also had two winners; Sufffolk finalist Andy Rodriguez (19-0) at 135 and all-county Jean Oliver (16-2) who posted an exciting 8-6 overtime decision over Ray Powers (Mt. Sinai) to claim the 140-pound title. Bayport-Blue Point had one champion, senior Kevin Edward, who recorded the only fall in the finals, as he captured the 152-pound championship and earned his 100th career victory.


Matt Ross (Rocky Point) dec. Adam Lepkowsky (Hauppauge), 6-4.
103-Ken Collado (Haup) dec. Anthony Powers (Mt. Sinai), 6-1.
112 Alex Gomez (Brentwood) dec. Brandon Escobar (Rocky Point), 6-2.
119-Ricardo Gomez (Brent) dec.Anthony Ricco (Stratford, CT), 5-0.
125-Paul Liguori (Wantagh) tech fall Wilson Cardozza (Brent), 17-2.
130-Stephen Dutton (Haup) and Kevin Pannebianco (Haup), co-champions.
135-Andy Rodriguez (CIslip) dec. Keith Collado (Haup), 4-3.
140-Jean Oliver (CIslip) dec. Ray Powers (Mt.Sinai), 8-6 OT.
145-John Greisheimer (Want) dec.Jon Senese (Haup), 12-5.
152-Kevin Edward (Bayport) pinned Anthony Pantori (Rocky Pt), 5:25.
160-Michael Hernandez (Brent) dec. Austin Schneider (Haup), 6-4 OT.
171-Josue Mendez (Brent) dec. Jake Smith (Smithtown West), 3-2.
189-Eric Wooley (Haup) dec.Jesus Cartegna (Brent) 5-3.
215-Jahsua Marsh (Brent) dec. Dave McGarry (Haup), 10-6.
285-Scott Munro (Haup) and Steven Marro (Haup), co-champions.

Brentwood (371.5)
2. Hauppauge (341.5)
3. Rocky Point (206)
4. Central Islip (140)
5. Mt. Sinai (123.5)
6. East Islip (119)
7. Wantagh (105.5)
8. Bayport-Blue Point (82)
9. Stratford, CT (54)
10.Smithtown West (47)
Brentwood's Josue Mendez works to takedown Wantagh's Matt Loew. Mendez won this semifinal bout 5-4 and went on to capture 171 pound crown.
Stephen Dutton of Hauppauge tries to turn Alex Brown of East Islip. Dutton won this semi 17-1 and the 130 pound championship as well.
Central Islip's Andy Rodriguez controls Strafford's Jesse Inman in the semis, winning 7-2 en route to the 135 pound title.
215-Jahsua Marsh (Brentwood)
160-Mike Hernandez (Brentwood)
152-Kevin Edward (Bayport-Bluepoint)
145-John Greisheimer (Wantagh)
125-Paul Liguori (Wantagh)
112-Brandon Escobar (Rocky Point)
96-Matt Ross
(Rocky Point) -right
145-Jon Senese (Hauppauge)
Brentwood's Alex Gomez works to escape from Bayport-Bluepoint's Glenn Donatelli in the 112 pound semifinal. Gomez won the bout 3-1 and was vctorious in the finals earning him the OSW Award.