CHAMPIONSHIP FINAL RESULTS

Vito Arujau (Syosset) maj.dec. David Yablans (Jericho) 10-1
106- Kyle Quinn (Wantagh) maj.dec. Chris Donnelly (ITrees) 12-1
113- Steven Sewkumar (LBeach) dec. Adam Smith (EastMeadow) 6-5
120- Rob Person (BJFK) maj. dec. Chris Cataldo (MacArthur) 19-8
126- Owen Bachelder (Hewlett) dec. Mike Fera (Manhasset) 4-1
132- Vinny Turano (Wantagh) dec. Mike Lanasa (Plainedge) 7-1
138- Matt Power (EastMeadow) dec. Julian Arroyo (Calhoun) 6-0
145- Louis Hernandez (Mepham) tech fall Mike Tropiano (EastMeadow) 20-5
152- Chris Koo (GNS) dec. Mike Marrero (Mac) 6-5
160- Steven Schneider (MacArthur) maj.dec. Jun Yoo (Jericho) 15-3
170-Dan McDevitt (Wantagh) maj.dec. Dan Grabher (NorthShore) 11-2
182- James Corbett (Wantagh) dec. Robert Ng (Plainedge) 7-1
195- Dan Choi (Syosset) maj.dec. Jordan Hamilton (Uniondale) 16-2
220-Tom Sinclair (ITrees) dec. Matt Mott (Lynbrook) 4-2
285- James O'Hagan (Seaford) pinned Bryan Tenny (Farmingdale) 3:49

OSW Award: Owen Bachelder (Hewlett) - 126 pounds
Most Pins: Matt Mott (Lynbrook) - 220 pounds - 3/5:20
Team Scores:
1. Wantagh (202.5)
2. MacArthur (131)
3. Mepham (121.5)
4. Syosset (119.5)
5. Island Trees (107.5)
6. Plainedge (104.5)
7. Uniondale (84)
8. Farmingdale (79.5)
8. Jericho (79.5)
10.Hewlett (79)
Photo courtesy of phototrens.com
                             WANTAGH WINS NASSAU CHAMPIONSHIPS

     Wantagh won the Nassau County Wrestling Championships as they tallied 202.5 points to easily defeat runner-up MacArthur (131) and Mepham with 121.5. The Warriors claimed their third consecutive county mat title and crowned four champions amongst their eight placewinners. Defending champion and state placer Dan McDevitt (37-0) coasted throught the 170-pound bracket and other winners were, Kyle Quinn (106), Vinny Turano (132) and tough James Corbett (32-2) at 182 pounds. Highly-regarded Chris Araoz  was upset by Hewlett's Owen Bachelder in the semifinals and battled back for a third place in the 126-pound class. Bachelder defeated tough Mike Fera (Manhasset), 4-1, in the finals and was voted the outstanding wrestler in the tournament, he also became Hewlett's first county champion.

     MacArthur was paced by junior Steven Schneider (44-3) who used his bar/arm series en route to a 12-3 decision at 160 pounds. Reigning champion Louis Hernandez (47-1, 101 career wins) of Mepham scored with a barrage of takedowns and tilts and posted an impressive 22-5 tech fall to capture the 145-pound crown.

     Returning state medalist Rob Person (37-2) of BJFK posted a 19-8 major decision at 120 and a pair of unbeatens; eighth-grader Vito Arujau (44-0) of Syosset at 99, along with Chris Koo (38-0) of GNS won mat titles. Arujau scored with his single leg takedowns to defeat David Yablans (Jericho), 10-1, and Koo edged MacArthur's Mike Marrero, 6-5, in the 152-pound class.

     Other winners were: Steven Sewkumar (LB) who rallied in the third period for a 6-5 win at 113, Matt Power (138) of East Meadow, Dan Choi (195) of Syosset, Tom Sinclair (42-4) of Island Trees at 220 and state-ranked James O'Hagan (34-1) of Seaford at 285 pounds.

Mat Notes...
   Wantagh (18-0) won the Nassau County dual meet title for the third year in the row and the state's number #1 mat squad now has a 40-match win streak. Congratulations to Hall-of-Fame coaches, Paul Gillespie and Reggie Jones Jr., along with varsity assistants Ray Hanley and PJ Gillespie. In the
Division II Tournament, Locust Valley dominated the competition and crowned seven champions, including state finalist Nick Casella (113) and talented Sam Ward at 132 pounds.