125-Paul Donahue (Nebraska) dec. Sam Hazewinkel (Oklahoma) 3-1 OT.

133-Matt Valenti (Penn) dec. Coleman Scott (Oklahoma State) 4-2. 
141-Derek Moore (UC Davis) tech fall Ryan Lang (Northwestern) 17-2.

149-Gregor Gillespie (Edinboro) dec. Josh Churella (Michigan) 3-1 OT
157-Trent Paulson (Iowa State) dec. Craig Henning (Wisconsin) 6-5.
165-Mark Perry (Iowa) dec. Johny Hendricks (Oklahoma State) 4-3.
174-Ben Askren (Missouri) dec. Keith Gavin (Pitt) 8-2.
184-Jake Herbert (Northwestern) dec. Jake Varner (Iowa State) 6-1.
197-Josh Glenn (American) dec. Kurt Backes (Iowa State) 6-4 OT.
285-Cole Konrad (Minnesota) pinned Aaron Anspach (Penn State) 1:53.
   Defending NCAA champion sophomore Dustin Schlatter (77-2 career mark) was defeated by Edinboro sophomore Gregor Gillespie, 3-2, at 149 pounds, and will be denied the chance of becoming a four-time NCAA champion. Gillespie went on to win the NCAA crown in overtime as did Josh Glenn. Both Gillespie and Glenn are former NYS champions. Four wrestlers remained unbeaten; Derek Moore, Ben Askren, Jake Herbert and Cole Konrad. Moore scored the most points in the finals and was voted the tournament's outstanding wrestler award. Askren finished his spectacular career as a four-time finalist, two-time champion and an 87 match win streak. Konrad was also a two-time winner and had a 76 match streak, he hopes to be a 2008 Olympian. Cornell finished in 12th place with 47 points and the Big Red's Troy Nickerson (17-2), earned the bronze medal at 125 pounds. Nickerson, a sophomore, is a two-time All-American, at the 2006 NCAA meet he was a finalist and this year he dropped a close 2-1 decision to the eventual champion, Paul Donahoe (Nebraska). Donahoe was a two-time state champion in Michigan and now has won both state and NCAA championships at The Palace in Auburn Hills. Donahoe defeated four-time All-American Sam Hazewinkel (25-1) of Oklahoma, in the finals, with a close 3-1 overtime decision. New York State had a great showing at the 2007 NCAA Championships, with two national champions and a total of seven All-Americans, including true freshman, JP O'Connor (36-8) of Harvard who placed 5th at 149 pounds. Hofstra finished in the top ten, scored their most points ever at the NCAAs and had four NCAA All-Americans for the first time in school history; Charles Griffin (3rd at 141), James Strouse(4th at 157), Mike Patrovich (6th at 165) and Chris Weidman (3rd at 197). Griffin (35-6, 89-20 career) dropped a 6-4 decision to Nathan Morgan (OklaSt) in the quarterfinals and avenged that lost in the consolation finals. Strouse (41-5, 120-44), Patrovich (20-7, 106-30) and Weidman (23-14, 59-23) are former NYS champions, and Patrovich and Weidman finished their stellar careers as two-time All-Americans. Congratulations to Hofstra's Tom Shifflet for the Pride's top ten NCAA finish and an outstanding job in his first year as head coach. The combined record of the ten NCAA champions was 320 victories and 18 losses. The attendance for the finals was a record 17,780 fans, which eclipsed the previous mark of 17,436, in 1997, at Northern Iowa. Special thanks to NCAA media coordinator, Julie Eversgerd, for her outstanding work with the NCAA updates and working so well with everyone. The 2008 NCAA Championships will be held on March 20-22 at the Scottrade Center (Savvis Center) in St. Louis, Missouri...

1.   Minnesota.................98 points
2.   Iowa State.................88.5
3.   Missouri....................80
4.   Northwestern............71.5
5.   Oklahoma State........69
6.   Michigan...................62
7.   Hofstra.....................60.5
8.   Iowa.........................57
9.   Edinboro...................56
10. Ohio State................54.5
                            NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS

      Minnesota won the 77th annual  NCAA Wrestling Championships, which was held at the Palace at Auburn Hills, a suburb of Detroit, Michigan. The Golden Gophers tallied 98 points to edge runner-up Iowa State who finished with 88.5 and Missouri (80). Minnesota won their third team title and were led by two-time NCAA champion Cole Konrad (35-0), who used his body lock and flattened Penn State's Aaron Anspach at the 1:53 mark to claim the 285-pound crown. The Cyclones pushed three grapplers into the finals and emerged with one champion, Trent Paulson (31-4) at 157 pounds. Three defending NCAA champions successfully defended their titles, Matt Valenti (32-2) of Penn at 133, Ben Askren (42-0) of Missouri at 174 and the aforementioned Konrad. Valenti defeated Coleman Scott (OklaState), 4-2, and Askren posted a solid 8-2 decision over Pitt's Keith Gavin. Minnesota's defending NCAA champion Dustin Schlatter (40-1) was upset by Edinboro's Gregor Gillespie (34-2), 3-2, in the semi-finals. Gillespie, a sophomore, scored on a snap/spin to edge Michigan junior Josh Churella, with an exciting 3-1 overtime victory and the 149-pound title. Two-time champion Johny Hendricks (34-1) of Oklahoma State was upset by Iowa's Mark Perry (28-4), 4-3,at 165. Perry scored on a third period reversal and then used a half nelson tilt for the decisive points to claim his first NCAA crown. In a battle of unbeatens at 141 pounds, Derek Moore (24-0) of UC- Davis dominated Ryan Lang (29-1),with a barrage of tilts and cradles to score a 17-2 tech fall and earned the OSW Award. At 197, American's Josh Glenn (27-1) scored with a quick single leg takedown for a 6-4 overtime win over Kurt Backes (Iowa State). Both Moore and Glenn became their school's first national champions. Other titlists included Paul Donahoe (35-5) of Nebraska at 125 and  junior Jake Herbert (32-0) of Northwestern, who dominated five opponents to conclude an outstanding season with the 184-pound crown.
photo by John Johnson