1.Iowa (34.5)
  2.Oklahoma State (26)
  3.Iowa State (24)
  4.Wisconsin (23)
  4.Oklahoma (23)
  4.Ohio State (23)
  7.Cornell (22)
  8.Minnesota (20)
  9.Missouri (18.5)
10.Penn State 17)
10.Central Michigan (17)
10.Lehigh (17)
10.Virginia (17)
   Defending team champion Iowa held a slight lead with at the 80th annual NCAA Wrestling Championships at the Qwest Center in Omaha, Nebraska. The Hawkeyes tallied 34.5 points to lead Oklahoma State (26) and Iowa State with 24 points. The Hawkeyes pushed eight wrestlers into the quarterfinal round including 2009 NCAA champion Brent Metcalf (33-1) at 149 pounds. Cornell's top-seeded Kyle Dake (31-2) applied his tight bar arm to secure a fall at the 3:48 mark in his 141 pound bout. The Big Red's Mack Lewnes (38-0) posted two decisions to advance in the 174 pound class. Harvard's JP O'Connor (32-0) defeated Iowa's Jake Kerr 8-1 to move into the quarterfinals at 157 pounds. Both Lewnes and O'Connor are top seeded and have looked impressive after two matches. Other New Yorkers that advanced were Torsten Gillespie (30-13) of Edinboro at 149 and Justin Lister (30-8) of Binghamton in the 157- pound weight class.

Mat Notes...
Cornell's three-time All American and defending NCAA champion Troy Nickerson (2-3-1) was upset by Fred Santaite (19-9) of Boston University, 2-1, at 125 pounds. Nickerson has been hampered by a severe shoulder injury and it appeared that his shoulder popped out during his bout and the coaching staff immediately reset it. Nickerson (14-2) yielded a takedown on the buzzer and suffered a heart breaking defeat. He will face Ryan Mango (Stanford) in the consolation bracket. New York's two returning All-Americans, Kyle Borschoff (25-6) of Edinboro at 149 and Binghamton's Josh Patterson (27-7) at 174 suffered defeats and were thrust into the consoltion rounds.
   Top seeded matmen that advanced were Angel Escobedo (35-0) of Indiana at 125, Jayson Ness (28-0) of Minnesota at 133, Lance Palmer (29-2) of Ohio State at 149, Andrew Howe (34-0) of Wisconsin at 165, Kirk Smith (27-0) of Boise State at 184, three-time finalist and reigning champion Jake Varner (28-0) of Iowa State at 197 and teammate David Zabriskie (23-2) at 285 pounds.
Iowa's Brent Metcalf takes down American's Kyle Borshoff in second round action of the NCAA championships. Metcalf won this 149 bout 20-7 to help his team take the lead here in Omaha.        Click here for more pictures...