CHAMPIONSHIP FINALS

Jesse Delgado (Illinois) dec. Nicholas Megaludis (Penn State) 7-4

133- Logan Stieber (Ohio State) dec.Tony Ramos (Iowa) 7-4

141- Kendric Maple (Oklahoma) dec. Mitchell Port (Edinboro) 4-3

149- Jordan Oliver (Oklahoma State) dec. Jason Chamberlain (Boise State) 3-2

157- Derek St. John (Iowa) dec. Jason Welch (Northwestern) 3-2

165- Kyle Dake (Cornell) dec. David Taylor (Penn State) 5-4

174- Chris Perry (Oklahoma State) dec. Matthew Brown (Penn State) 2-1 OT

184- Ed Ruth (Penn State) maj.dec. Robert Hamlin (Lehigh) 12-4

197- Quentin Wright (Penn State) dec. Dustin Kilgore (Kent State) 8-6

285- Anthony Nelson (Minnesota) dec. Michael McMullen (Northwestern) 6-2

Mat Notes...
Cornell's Kyle Dake (37-0, 137-4 career) captured his fourth NCAA title and became the first wrestler in NCAA history to win four titles in four different weight classes (141-149-157-165). In the highly anticipated final, he defeated 2012 NCAA champion David Taylor (31-2), 5-4, with a key first period escape and a second period takedown. After giving up a questionable stalling point near the end of the bout, it was his mat skills and riding time (1:13) edge that propelled him to the historic victory. Dake finished his four NCAA tournaments with a perfect 20-0 mark and recently stated: "I hate losing more than I enjoy winning." He attributed much of his success to his Cornell coaches and the fantastic family support he has received over his stellar career. Dake was voted the Most Outstanding Wrestler Award and finished with a 77-match win streak.

   Three other Empire State prepped wrestlers won the OSW Award at the NCAAs;
Nick Gallo (1976) of Hofstra, Jeff Prescott (1991) of Penn State and Jesse Jantzen (2004) of Harvard. Dake joins the elite company of only two other four-time NCAA champions; Pat Smith (1990-91-92-94) at 158 of Oklahoma State and Cael Sanderson (1999-2000-01-02) at 184 and 197 of Iowa State.

New York State finished with two All-Americans, the aforementiond Dake and his teammate Mike Nevinger (42-10), a junior, who finished 5th at 141 pounds. The late Willie Gadson's son, Kyven Gadson (28-5), a sophomore from Iowa State, won AA honors as he captured 6th place in the 197-pound class.

Penn State won his third straight NCAA team title and now has won four championships, the Nittany Lions first NCAA team crown was in 1953. Oklahoma State is the NCAA leader with 34 NCAA team titles, followed by Iowa with 23 championships.

Team Scores
1. Penn State (123.5)
. Oklahoma State (119.5)
. Minnesota (103)
. Iowa (73)
Cornell (65)
. Ohio State (59.5)
. Missouri (56.5)
Oregon State (48.5)
Illinois (45.5)
0.Virginia Tech (43.5)