FINAL RESULTS

125-Matt McDonough (Iowa) dec. Andrew Long (Iowa State),  3-1.

133-Jayson Ness (Minnesota) dec. Daniel Dennis (Iowa), 6-4.

141-Kyle Dake (Cornell) dec. Montell Marion (Iowa), 7-3.

149-Brent Metcalf (Iowa) dec. Lance Palmer (Ohio State), 3-2.  

157-JP O'Connor (Harvard) dec. Chase Pami (Cal Poly), 6-4.

165-Andrew Howe (Wisconsin) dec. Dan Vallimont (Penn State), 9-3.

174-Jay Borschell (Iowa) dec. Mack Lewnes (Cornell), 6-2. 

184-Max Askren (Missouri) dec. Kirk Smith (Boise State), 10-3 

197-Jake Varner (Iowa State) dec. Craig Brester (Nebraska), 5-2.

285-David Zabriskie (Iowa Sate) dec. Jared Rosholt (Oklahoma State), 3-2.

OSW Award: Jayson Ness (Minnesota) - 133 pounds
Most Pins: Chris Henrich (Virginia) - 174 pounds

Mat Notes...
Cornell's former NCAA champion Troy Nickerson (19-3) finished as a four-time All-American with placings of  2-3-1-4. Nickerson turned in a gutsy performance throughout the three-day grueling tournament and finished his stellar career with a 97-9 mark. New York State finished with two champions and had seven All-Americans. Earning All-American honors were the aforementioned Nickerson and  champions Dake and O'Connor. Others wereTorsten Gillespie (32-15) of Edinboro 6th at 149, Kyle Borschoff (26-8) of American, 8th at 149, Justin Lister (32-10) of Binghamton, 4th at 157 and Steven Brown (17-6) of Central Michigan, 8th at 157. O'connor finished as a Three- time All American J.P.O"Connor (5-6-1) finished his career with 132 victories and became only  the third wrestler from Harvard to win an NCAA title. The other two were John Harkness (1938) and Jesse Jantzen (2004). New York and Iowa were the only home states to crowned two champions. Pennsylvania led all states with eight All-Americans. Five NCAA champions remained unscathed; Jayson Ness (31-0) of Minnesota at 133,  J.P.O'Connor (35-0), Andrew Howe (37-0) of Wisconsin at 165, Jay Borschel (37-0) of Iowa at 174 and four-time finalist and defending champion Jake Varner (31-0) of Iowa State at 197 pounds. The attendance at the finals was 15, 619 fans.


  1. Iowa (134.5)
  2. Cornell (90)
  3. Iowa State (75)
  4. Wisconsin (70.5)
  5. Oklahoma (69)
  6. Oklahoma State (65)
  7. Minnesota (63)
  8. Ohio State (62)
  9. Penn State (49)
10. Missouri (48
OSW - Jayson Ness (Minnesota)