Hauppauge crowned four individual champions and tallied 263 points to outdistance Section Nine power Monroe-Woodbury (199) and Connetquot (179), to capture the 44th annual Massapequa Christmas/Holiday Tournament. The Eagles were led by defending state champion, junior Ken Collado (8-0, 81-17 career) at 119, freshman Nick Mauriello (96), along with seniors, Eric Wooley (215) and Scott Munro at 285. Coach Chris Messina, at the helm for 26 years said, "The team is coming along very well, we have depth, and the young kids are stepping up." Reigning state champion Jamie Franco (19-0, 182-28) of Monroe-Woodbury, used his low single and front headlock throw by to defeat James Cameron (100 wins) of Connetquot en route to the 125-pound title. Other state kings that claimed championships were Wantagh teammates; two-time winner Paul Liguori (11-1,185-13), who applied his tight double bar arm and secured a first period pin fall at 135 and John Greisheimer (11-0, 152-14) who used a barrage of takedowns and posted a 22-8  major decision in the 152-pound class.  

                               CHAMPIONSHIP FINALS

-Nick Mauriello (Hauppauge) dec. Joe Barbato (Wantagh), 5-0.
103-Sean McCabe (Connetquot) dec.Tyler McGann (Haup), 6-0.
112-Vaquan Kelly (Monroe-Woodbury) pinned Mike Faraglia (LB), 1:43.
119-Ken Collado (Haup) tech.fall Nick Wolff (MonWood), 20-5, 5:25.
125-Jamie Franco(MonWood) dec. James Cameron (Conn), 8-3.
130-Mike Vespa (MonWood) tech.fall Nick Fitzmaurice (Want),17-2, 4:51.
135-Paul Liguori (Want) pinned Anthony Evangelista (Massapequa), 1:27.
140-Quimes Delacruz (Want) dec. Kevin Panebianco (Haup), 6-4.
145-German Meza (Bethpage) dec. Patrick Morgan (Mass), 6-4.
152-John Greisheimer (Want) major dec. Josh Maddock (Mass), 22-8.
160-James Ondris (Mass) dec. Chanze Menendez (Haup), 6-4.
171-Nick Isnardi (Mass) dec. Will Shuesller (MonWood), 6-4.
189-Matt Loew (Want) dec. Joe Pellegrino (Conn), 9-3.
215-Eric Wooley (Haup) dec. Shaun Bacchiocchi (MonWood), 7-4.
285-Scott Munro (Haup) dec. David Yeu (Beth), 9-2.

George Doherty OSW Award: Paul Liguori (Wantagh-135)
Richard Doherty Most Falls Award: Paul Liguori (Want-135), 4 in 3:54.
Rudy Fiorvanti Champion of Champions Award: Ken Collado (H-119)

Mat Notes...
Of the four NYS titlists in the tournament, three are seniors; Franco will wrestle at Hofstra next year, Liguori is headed for Harvard and Greisheimer will be at Edinboro (PA). Legendary and Hall-of-Fame coach Al Bevilacqua spoke eloquently prior to the finals about the awards honoring the memory of three special people. George and Richard Doherty are NYS Hall-of-Fame members, and were the coaches at Berner HS and Rudy Fiorvanti was a 1970 MHS alum, who was a rare three-sport athlete and earned all-county honors in football, wrestling and lacrosse. The Massapequa Christmas/Holiday Tournament is the oldest on Long Island and now in its 44th year, and second oldest in the state, behind the prestigious Windsor Tournament which is now in its 52 year...

Team Score
1.Hauppauge (263 points)
2.Monroe-Woodbury (199)
3.Connetquot (179)
4.Massapequa (171.5)
5.Wantagh (146)
6.Long Beach (120)
7.Bethpage (68
Al Bevilacqua speaks in front of the Berner-Massapequa Alumni.
Paul Liguori receives the "George K. Doherty Outstanding Wrestler Award" from Audrey Nordland, the late Doherty's sister and long-time wrestling fan.
Paul Liguori receives the "Richard Doherty Most Pins Award" from Mike Doherty, son of the late Doherty and four-time county placewinner from Berner High School.
Ken Collado receives the "Rudy Fiorvanti Champion of Champions Award" from Ed Fiorvanti, the late Fiorvanti's brother and four-time county placewinner from Massapequa High School.
Hauppauge celebrates after winning the "Al Bevilacqua Team Trophy."
Massapequa's longtime wrestling fan Jim Kolvasik, at 88 years old, in attendance for the Berner-Massapequa Alumni Tournament.