Hauppauge, the league dual meet champion, was leading the League V Championships with 286 points, ahead of Huntington (182), Islip (136), Sayville (130) and Kings Park with 122.5 points. The Eagles were paced by 2008 state champion Ken Collado (29-3) at 119, undefeated freshman Mark West (26-0) at 96, Kevin Panebianco (30-3) at 135 and top-seeded Jesse Marro (29-3) at 145 pounds. Collado posted a 17-6 major decision over Russell Pisano (Comsewogue) and will face state finalist Damon McQueen (33-1) in the final. West pinned Sayville's Matt Leshinger (24-8) in the third period and is matched against Corey Jamison (23-9) of Huntington. Panebianco registered a 57 second fall and Jesse Marro recorded a third period pin in advancing to the finals. Other Eagles that will vie for gold medals were Nick Mauriello (112), Michael Ehlinger (125), Adam Lepkowsky (130), Anthony Piscitello (140), Anthony Bonaventura (152) and Chanse Menendez at 171 pounds.

     Huntington pushed top-seeded and unbeaten Nigel McNeil (29-0) into the 112-pound final, along with the aforementioned Jamison and McQueen. Also earning final berths were teammates Maurice Loadholt (18-2) at 130, Lou Puca (30-3) at 160, and Ryan Fox (32-1) at 171 pounds. Loadholt was embroiled in a wild semi-final battle with Harborfield's Andrew Colamussi, and scored on a third period reversal and back points and emerged with a 14-12 decision.

     Defending state champion Mike Soria (28-0) defeated tough Nick Wiggers (Comsewogue), 7-0, and twin brother, Max (29-2) pinned Sayville's Nick Pesko (16-4) in the 103-pound class. They will meet in the championship finals. Islip's top-seeded Kyle Wade (29-0) needed only 47 seconds in the semi-finals and will face Anthony Bonaventura (28-7) in the final. Sayville's middleweight corps of Steven Leshinger (29-7) at 140 and rugged Josef Haas (30-6) at 145 advanced to the finals. Haas posted three first period falls thus far in the tournament, and will face nemesis Jessse Marro for the league title.

Mat Notes...
   Four of the League V champions remained unbeaten, Mark West (27-0), Mike Soria (29-0), Nigel McNeil (30-0) and Kyle Wade (30-0). Hauppauge crowned seven league champions and had 11 finalists. The Eagles and coaches Chris Messina & Jerry Goodfellow won their fifth consecutive league title, they will send 12 quality wrestlers to the county meet. Speaking of coaches, Congratulations to ESM coach Nick Garone (1986 NYS champion from Patchogue-Medford) for the resurgence and competitiveness of the Sharks' wrestling program...


- Mark West (Haup) dec. Corey Jamison (Hunt), 13-6.
103- Mike Soria (KPark) won over Max Soria (KPark), forfeit.
112- Nigel McNeil (Hunt) major dec. Nick Mauriello (Haup), 14-2.
119- Damon McQueen (Hunt) dec. Ken Collado (Haup), 7-0.
125- Michael Ehlinger (Haup) dec. Dan Gregg (Islip), 5-3.
130- Adam Lepkowsky (Haup) dec. Maurice Loadholt (Hunt), 6-4.
135- Kevin Panebianco (Haup) pinned Mike DiMartino (Islip), 1:46.
140- Anthony Piscitello (Haup) dec. Steven Leshinger (Sayville), 7-5.
145- Jesse Marro (Haup) dec. Josef Haas (Sayville), 10-9.
152- Kyle Wade (Islip) pinned Anthony Bonaventura (Haup), 1:34.
160- Lou Puca (Hunt) dec. Greg Bienentstein (KPark), 8-2.
171- Ryan Fox (Hunt) pinned Chanse Menendez (Haup), :42.
189- Gennero Bonaventura (Haup) dec. Andrew Ventura (KPark), 3-2.
215- Steve Provenzano (Islip) dec. Greg Martin (KP), 13-3.
285- Joe Manna (Islip) dec. Christian Nelson (Say), 5-4.

OSW: Damon McQueen (Huntington) - 119
Most Pins: Josef Haas (Sayville) -145- 3 in 2:09

Team Scores:
1. Hauppauge (321)
2. Huntington (222.5)
3. Islip (174)
4. Kings Park (165.5)
5. Sayville (151)
6. Comsewogue (56)
7. Harborfields (49)
8. Eastport-South Manor (43)
Hauppauge's Ken Collado is in deep on Comsewogue's Russell Pisano en route to a 17-6 major decision in the 119 pound semifinal. Hauppauge went on to take the League V team title over second place Huntington. Check back later for more pictures...