By Jim & Tony Nordland

     Sachem North won the  Kris McDonald/Islip Cup Tournament as they amassed 229.5 points to finish ahead of Islip (197), defending Suffolk team champion Brentwood (194.5), Deer Park (127.5) and Nassau power Plainedge who finished with 123.5 points. The Flaming Arrows crowned three champions among their five finalists; earning titles were Ryan Gerondel (125), OSW Award winner Joe LaSala (145) and Dan Pereira at 189 pounds.
     The tournament is named in honor of former Islip HS wrestler, Kris J. McDonald, a 1992 graduate who tragically lost his life on the night of January 29, 1994, when his vehicle crashed after sliding on a patch of "black ice." At the time of the accident, he was wrestling at SUNY Farmingdale, where he was studying for a career in nursing. The tournament named in his honor is now in its15th year and has instituted a scholarship fund. The family volunteers at the event and through commerative T shirt sales help to contributed to the fund. His loving Mom, remembers Kris in a very special way and said, "He was such a caring son and had a heart you don't normally see in kids and he really loved kids." His former physical education teacher and Islip's current head coach, Joe Patrovich, remembered Kris, "As a very likeable, hard-working kid with a great personality." The entire McDonald family feel honored to have their son's name affiliated with the prestigious tournament.
     Host Islip garnered two individual championships, sophomore Kyle Wade edged Sachem North's Mike Piro, 2-1, to claim the 135-pound title and was voted the Champion of Champions. The Bucs other titlist was senior Cody Hinrichs who flattened George Hatzel (West Islip) in 3:22 for the 285-pound crown. Brentwood had two winners, including sophomore Alex Gomez who pinned Plainedge's Joe Cusimano at the 3:13 mark in the 119-pound final and teammate Jesse Cabrera who took home the 152-pound championship.


Steve Coppola (WI) p. Zach Lugo (DP) 1:18
103- Alan Gomez (CI) d. David Chaverra(Br) 4-1
112- Eric Wiener(DP) d. Dan Gregg (Is) 6-4
119- Alex Gomez(Br) p. Joe Cusamano(DP) 3:13
125- Ryan Gerondel (SachN) d. Mike Dunne(HHHW) 7-5
130- Brandon Cauchi (DP) d. Travis Calderon (Br) 5-4
135- Kyle Wade (Is) d. Mike Piro (SachN) 2-1
140- Andy Rodriguez (CI) d. JP Sala (Is) 7-3
145- Joe LaSala (SachN) p. Rich Lugo (DP) 2:54
152- Jesse Cabrera (Br) d. Justin Patus (SachN) 10-7
160- Anthony Minnici (Pl) d. Kevin Kennedy(Pl) 3-2
171- Nick Camera (Pl) d. Joe Cannone (Is) 7-4
189- Dan Pereira (SachN) d. Dan Lyons (Is) 7-3
215- Byron Kesler (CI) d. Mike Dooley (CI) 7-5
285- Cody Hinricks (Is) p. George Hatzel (WI) 3:22

MOW- Joe LaSala (Sachem North)
COC- Kyle Wade (Islip)
PINS- Alex Gomez (Brentwood)

Mat Notes...
   Alex Gomez (24-2), who finished third at the 2008 county meet had four pins in the tournament and earned the Most Falls Award. The Indians were without the services of their returning Suffolk champion and NYS placer unbeaten Josue Mendez (171). Congratulations to Sachem North (5-0, 17-5 overall dual mark) and coach Ray Pickersgill on winning the team title...
Sachem North's Joe LaSala uses his legs on Deer Park's Rich Lugo. LaSala won this 145 pound final with a fall and was voted the Outstanding wrestler.