Number-one ranked Iowa defeated cross state rival Iowa State, 20-15, before a record 15, 955 fans at the Hawkeye Arena. The Hawkeyes were led by NCAA champion, Brent Metcalf (9-0) who posted a technical fall, 26-10, against Mitch Mueller at 149 pounds. Also winning for Iowa was Charlie Falck (125), Alex Tsirstis, who edged Nick Gallick, 4-2, at 141, Ryan Morningstar (165), Jay Borschel (174) and Phillip Keddy at 184. Iowa State posted three major decisions in the meet; Nick Fanthorpe, 12-2, over Joey Slaton at 133, Cyler Sanderson, 22-9, over Matt Ballweg at 157, and Jake Varner with a 13-3 verdict against Luke Lofthouse at 197 pounds. The other Cyclone victor was David Zabriskie with a 5-1 victory at heavyweight.