Connetquot crowned four champions and amassed 345.5 points en route to the team title at the annual Gray/Fitzgerald Holiday Tournament held at Sayville HS. The Thunderbirds, a perennial Suffolk power, were paced by two-time all county Steven Bulzomi (35-5 last season) who posted a 12-2 major decision in the 126-pound final, along with Sean Miller (99), all-league Brandan Dent (145) and Josh Gutiriez at 220 pounds.

     Brentwood, defending tournament champion  and county team winner finished as runners-up as they tallied 316.5 points. The Indians had two titlists Carlos Aucancela (106) and county bronze medalist Carlos Toribio. Toribio posted a solid 9-3 decsion over all-county Jagger Rebozo (Hills West) to claim the 182-pound championship.

     Hills West finished third with 179.5 points and had three champions, including state finalistTyler Grimaldi (49-2 last year) at 160, along with Chris Riley (120) and Suffolk runner-up Joe Piccolo at 170 pounds.

     Team host Sayville had two winners: state bronze medalist Matt Leshinger (114-25 career mark) at 138 and two-time tournament winner Lucas Ciancimino who earned the 152-pound crown. Rounding out the top teams were Smithtown East (128.5), Central Islip (127.5), Plainedge (112) and Miller Place with 98 points.

Mat Notes...
Hills West teammates Tyler Grimaldi and Joe Piccolo earned both the OSW and Most Pins Award. Grimaldi won three bouts including a fall in the finals and Piccolo flattened all four of his opponents. In a battle of all-county grapplers, CI's Mike Figueroa edged Brentwood's Danny Murray, 3-2, to claim the 113-pound title. Sayville's Nick Pesko defeated four opponents and captured the bronze medal at 145 pounds and earned his 100th career victory, the winningest wrestler in Sayville history is Travis Pitre with 121 career wins. Miller Place had lone titlist Chris Folk-Fruend at 195 pounds and won the Ray Downey Memorial Team Sportmanship Award...


Sean Miller (Conn) dec. TJ Burrows (Br) 8-2.
106-Carlos Aucancela (Brent) dec. Andrew Fiore (SmithE) 4-3.
113-Mike Figueroa (CI) dec. Danny Murray (Br) 3-2.
120-Chris Riley (HillsW) dec. Kevin Rivas (Br) 6-3.
126-Steven Bulzomi (Conn) major dec. Jake Lerner (Plain) 12-2.
132-Mike Lanasa (Plain) dec. Steven Bair (SmE) 6-2.
138-Matt Leshinger (Say) dec. Gino Titone (Conn) 7-5.
145-Brandan Dent(Conn) dec. Greg Chery (Conn) 4-2.
152-Lucas Ciancimino (Say) dec. Tyler Villarolo (SmE) 7-4.
160-Tyler Grimaldi (HillsW) pinned Zach Meyer (Say) 2:14.
170-Joe Piccolo (HillsW) pinned Sean Maher (Conn) 2:29.
182-Carlos Toribio (Brent) dec.Jagger Rebozo (HillsW) 9-3.
195-Chris Folk-Fruend (MillerPl) pinned Jose Andrades (Br) 4:14.
220-Josh Gutieriez (Conn) dec. Jose Jiminez (Br) 4-3.
285-Jon Reyes (CI) dec. Calvin Mora (Br) 3-1.
106 lbs. - Carlos Aucancela (Brentwood)
113 lbs. - Mike Figueroa (Central Islip)
120 lbs. - Chris Riley (Hills West)
Connetquot's Steve Bulzomi is in deep on Brentwood's Michael Cardona. Bulzomi won this semifinal 13-5 and went on the win the 126 pound championship.
Sayville's Matt Leshinger had his hands full trying to control Central Islip's Braulio Silverio in the 138 pound semifinal bout. Leshinger, the defending county champ, wrestled up a weight and came away with a 5-1 victory to advance to the finals where he won 7-5 over Connetquot's Gino Titone.