Connetquot finishes second
By Jim & Tony Nordland

Brentwood won the Gray-Fitzgerald Holiday Tournament team title and tallied 372.5 points to outdistanced runner-up Connetquot who finished with 300.5. Rounding out the top teams were host Sayville (193), Central Islip (124), Smithtown East (113), Bellport (111) and Miller Place with 99 points.

     The Indians, a perennial League I power crowned four champions, including all-county matmen Eric Orellana (113) and league champion Alexis Blanco at 138 pounds. Other winners amongst their eight finalists were Josue Blanco (170) and Misael Romero in the newly-created 182 pound class.

     Connetquot was paced by All-State grappler Sean McCabe (134-12 career mark) in the loaded 126-pound class. Other Thunderbird champions were Eddie Hart (106), county medalist Steven Bulzomi, who cruised to the 120-pound title, top-seeded Shaun Gillen who posted three first period pins among his four bouts at 160 and league placer Kenny Drew. Drew narrowly defeated Brentwood's Jean-Gilles Stevenson, 1-0, at 220 pounds.

     Host Sayville had a strong showing and captured two individual titles. Fourth-seeded Chris Siracusa upended #1 seed John Steigler (Miller Place), 2-0, in the semi-finals and then upset all-county Joey Gates (Connetquot), 4-3, in the finals for the 132-pound crown. Siracusa was voted the tournament's outstanding wrestler award. The other Golden Flashes champion was top-seeded Lucas Ciancimino who won four bouts en route to the 145-pound title.

Mat Notes...
   In a semi-final battle, Central Islip's county finalist Giovanni Sanchez edged county placer Matt Leshinger (Sayville), 7-6, at 126 pounds. Sanchez scored with an early single leg takedown and then Leshinger hit an acrobatic roll for a reversal to bring the score to 3-2. Sanchez scored with a key granby roll reversal midway through the second period and then held off a charging Leshinger for an exciting 7-6 win. Leshinger battled back for the bronze medal.

OSW Award: Chris Siracusa (132) - Sayville
Most Pins Award: Darius Caparoso (106) - Smithtown East - 4/14:22
Brentwood's Alexis Blanco
                         CHAMPIONSHIP FINALS

Walter Ibanez (CI) dec. Sean Miller (Conn) 8-2
106- Eddie Hart (Conn) dec. Danny Murray (Brent) 6-4
113- Eric Orellana (Brent) pinned Mike Figueroa (CI) 3:40
120- Steven Bulzomi (Conn) pinned Justin Siracusa (Say) : 35
126- Sean McCabe (Conn) dec. Giovanni Sanchez (CI) 6-3
132- Chris Siracusa (Say) dec. Joey Gates (Conn) 4-3
138- Alexis Blanco (Brent) dec. Luke Outcalt (SmithEast) 3-2
145- Lucas Ciancimino (Say) dec. Steven Schmitt (Conn) 5-1
152- John Rose (Bell) major dec. Dan Caliendo (Say) 13-3
160- Shaun Gillen (Conn) dec. Carlos Toribio (Brent) 8-1
171- Josue Blanco (Brent) dec. Kevin Blieka (Conn) 9-3
182- Miseal Romero (Brent) dec. Rob Reyes (Say) 5-2
195- Jason Conley (Bell) dec. Ryan Kelly (MillerPlace) 8-7 OT
220- Kenny Drew (Conn) dec. Stevenson Jean-Gilles (Brent) 1-0
285- Reggie Sinclair (Bell) dec. Josue Iglesias (Brent) 3-2