Jan. 11th -12th-         WANTAGH WINS EASTERN STATES

Top-ranked Wantagh won the 11th annual Eastern States Classic with 138 points ahead of Shenendehowa (111.5), Westfield, MA (102), Danbury, CT (77) and both Colonie and ESManor with 73.5 points.The Warriors crowned one champion Dan McDevitt who defeated Christian Dietrich (Greene), 6-2, in the 170-pound class. Other Warrior placers were finalist Kyle Quinn (106), Chris Araoz (3rd at 126), Vin Turano (132) and James Corbett who earned the bronze medal at 182 pounds.

   Shenendehowa claimed one champion as
Nick Kelley posted a 9-1 major decision over Div. II state king Connor Lapresi (Lansing) in the 138-pound class. Defending state champion Dylan Realbuto (Somers) was upset by SWR's TJ  Fabian (25-0), 3-2, at 126 pounds. Reigning state king Nick Piccininni (17-0) ofWard Melville won at 113 with a 5-0 verdict and state finalist Corey Rasheed (19-0) (Longwood) coasted to the 152-pound crown with a 13-0 major decision in the finals. At 160 pounds Burke Paddock (Warsaw) defeated Hills West's Tyler Grimaldi, 8-4, and gave him his first setback on the season.

     Other tournament champions included:
Chris Cuccolo (99) of Pine Bush, Nick Barbaria (106) of New Rochelle, Kevin Jack (120) of Danbury, CT, Tristan Rifanburg (132) of Norwich, Mepham's Louis Hernandez who upset Shen's David Almaviva, 4-2, in the semifinals and went onto to claim the 145-pound class, nationally ranked Zach Zupan (182) of Canastota, top-rated Reggie Williams (195) of Johnson City, Dan Breit (220) of Nanuet and state runner-up El Shadden VanHoesen (Columbia) at 285 pounds.

                     CHAMPIONSHIP FINALS

  99-Chris Cuccolo (Pine Bush) dec. Jake Yankloski (Wayne) 2-1OT
106-Nick Barbaria (New Rochelle) dec. Kyle Quinn (Wantagh) 3-0
113-Nick Piccininni (Ward Melville) dec. Dillon Stowell (Gouverneur) 5-0
120-Kevin Jack (Danbury, CT) dec. John Muldoon (Pearl River) 7-2
126-TJ Fabian (SWR) dec. Dylan Realbuto (Somers) 3-2
132-Tristan Rifanburg (Norwich) dec. Sam Melkian (Fordham Prep) 8-5
138-Nick Kelley (Shenendehowa) maj.dec.Connor Lapresi (Lansing) 9-1
145-Louis Hernandez (Mepham) dec. Beau Donahue (Westfield, MA) 7-3
152-Corey Rasheed (Longwood) maj.dec. Rowdy Prior (Phoenix) 13-0
160-Burke Paddock (Warsaw) dec. Tyler Grimaldi (Hills West) 8-4
170-Dan McDevitt (Wantagh) dec. Christian Dietrich (Greene) 6-2
182-Zach Zupan (Canastota) dec.Tim Schaefer (Warsaw) 5-2
195-Reggie Williams (Johnson City) pinned Hunter Ayen (Gouverneur) 5:09
220-Dan Breit (Nanuet) dec. Michael Silvis (Holley) 3-2
285-El Shaddai Vanhoesen (Columbia) pinned Alec Soutiere (Ravena) :58

Champion of Champions
: TJ Fabian (Shoreham-Wading River)  - 126 pounds
Team Sportmanship Award: Johnson City HS

Mat Notes...
   There were 118 schools from 4 different states entered into the prestigious field at the 2013 edition of the Eastern States Classic. The three OSW winners were
TJ Fabian, Nick Kelley and Dan McDevitt. State bronze medalist Matt Leshinger (23-1) of Sayville dropped a 7-6 match to Wantagh's tough Vinny Turano in the quarterfinals and then avenged that loss with a 9-2 decision for third place at 132 pounds. The top ranked Warriors (14-0) sit atop the NYS Sportswriters Poll, ahead of Sachem East (17-1), Rocky Point (20-0), Islip (16-2), Shenendehowa (6-3), East Islip (16-2), Sachem North (15-1), Fairport (13-1), Columbia (18-0), both Connetquot (8-0) and Monroe-Woodbury (20-2).