125-Stephen Abas(Fresno State) dec. Jody Strittmatter(Iowa) 13-10
133-Eric Juergens(Iowa) dec. Johnny Thompson(Oklahoma State) 10-7.
141-Michael Lightner(Oklahoma) dec. Doug Schwab(Iowa) 5-4.
149-Adam Tirapelle(Illinois) dec. Dave Esposito(Lehigh) 5-3.
157-T.J. Williams(Iowa) dec. Bryan Snyder(Nebraska) 3-2 OT Tie Breaker
165-Donny Pritzlaff(Wisconsin) dec. Joe Heskett(Iowa State) 3-1 SV.
174-Josh Koscheck(Edinboro) dec. Maurice Worthy(Army) 8-1.
184-Cael Sanderson(Iowa State) dec. Daniel Cormier(Oklahoma) 8-4.
197-Mark Munoz(Oklahoma State) dec. Pat Quirk(Illinois) 5-3.
285-John Lockhart(Illinois) dec.Tommy Rowlands(Ohio State) 2-1 Tie Breaker.

OSW-Cael Sanderson(Iowa State, 184)
MOST PINS-Garrett Lowney(Minnesota, 285)

1.Minnesota -       138.5 points
2.Iowa -               125.5
3.Oklahoma State- 115.5
4.Oklahoma -          93
5.Illinois -               89 
A LOOK BACK - 2001   ...continued Page 2
Mazzurco(Mahopac-1), 7-4, in a rematch of the 2000 finals and gave the Patrovich family their first state champion. Huntington's Pat Flynn was stunned by Mike Mormile( Monroe Woodbury-9) as he pinned him in 1:21 to claim the 112-pound title and earned the MOW Award. Other weight class champions included 8th grader Troy Nickerson(34-0) of Chenango Forks-4 who decisioned Steve Sutton(LaSalle-2), 2-0, to capture the 96-pound crown. Nickerson became only the third 8th grader ever to win a state title, the others were Troy Bouzakis(Pine Bush-9) and Ryan Needle(Newfane-6). J.R. Roberts(Medina-6) defeated Lucas Magnani(St. Anthony's-C), 13-9, as he overpowered him with his strong double leg takedowns and emerged with a 13-9 verdict to earned the 119-pound title. Also claiming state crowns were,Troy Forte(Pittsford-5) at 125, who finished the season at 42-0 and has a career mark of 236-22, and now becomes the Empire State's leader in victories. Matt Yanoski(Johnson City-4) at 145, Matt Herrington(LaSalle-2) at 160, Ben Locke(BGAfton-4) at 171 and Kyle Cerminara(Lew-Porter-6) at 189, all won state titles and finished their seasons unbeaten. Finishing third in their respective weight classes were, Gregor Gillespie(Webster-Schroeder-5) at 96, and Chris Hand(Whitney Point-4) at 135. Former 1999 NYS champion, sophomore  Ryan Needle(Newfane-6) finished fourth at 125 pounds. In the unofficial team scoring, Troy LaSalle-2 amassed 83 points, crowned two champions and had four state place-winners.

96-Nickerson(Chenango Forks-4) dec.Sutton(LaSalle-2) 2-0.
103-Vaccaro(East Islip-11) pinned Eckert(St. Anthony's-CHSAA) 2:50.
112-Mormile(Monroe-Woodbury-9) pinned Flynn(Huntington-11) 1:21.
119-Roberts(Medina-6) dec.Magnani(St. Anthony's-CHSAA) 13-9.
125-Forte(Pittsford-5) dec.Gartiser(Monroe-Woodbury-9) 5-0.
130-Roberts(Bellport-11) dec. Herzig(Lowville-3) 6-2.
135-Jones(Port Jervis-9) dec.Ianello(Hauppauge-11) 7-2.
140-Jackson(Amityville-11) dec.Williams(Hicksville-8) 9-7.
145-Yonoski(Johnson City-4) dec.Slate(Gouverneur-10) 3-1.
152-Patrovich(Islip-11) dec. Mazzurco(Mahopac-1) 7-4.
160-Herrington(LaSalle-2) dec. Lawrence(Calhoun-8) 17-6.
171-Locke(BGAfton-4) dec. Wiseman(Niagara-Wheatfield-6) 3-1 OT
189-Cerminara(Lewiston-Porter-6) dec. Steele(Hudson Falls-2) 3-2.
215-Gregg(LaSalle-2) dec. Proscia(Port Jervis-9) 7-0.
250-Weaver(Peru-7) dec. Bogumil(Maine-Endwell-4) 4-4 OT Criteria.