A LOOK BACK - 1987
                                             A LOOK BACK

At the Nassau County Championships, Long Beach with 163 points, edged Mepham (156.5) and Baldwin (155) to capture the team title. The Marines were paced by unbeaten Rich Santana (119) and James (Scotty) Graham at 215. Graham defeated rival Mike Heller (Farmingdale), 8-3, in a battle of the top heavyweights on Long Island. The Rommel brothers, Keith (91) and Glen (126), won gold medals for the Mepham Pirates and in the 167-pound final, Baldwin's Steve Shippos posted a solid 12-6 verdict over Rob Shaver (Island Trees).  Wantagh garnered three county crowns; Brian Hooker (132), OSW winner Tommy Ryan (138), who claimed his third county championship and Paul Standwell at 155 pounds.
   At the Suffolk County Championships, Sachem outscored Brentwood, 130 points to 119, and Huntington finished third with 103. The Flaming Arrows' two-time champion Wayne Wilson over came a first-round knee injury and won the 167-pound class, and teammate Frank Iacono took the 250-pound title. SWR's Ko Matsui (34-1) who moved to Long Island three years ago from Japan, edged two-time county titlist Keith Ketcham (Longwood), 7-6, in a frenetic final for the 105-pound championship, and was voted the tournament's outstanding wrestler. Other highly-regarded champions were junior Jeff Haise (98) of Babylon, senior Eric Kaufman (112) of East Hampton, and a pair of sophomores, Jamie St. John (138) of Port Jefferson and Comsewogue's tough Adam Mariano at 177 pounds.
   At the 25th (Silver Anniversary) NYS Intersectional Championships, Section Eight (Nassau) won their tenth title, as they amassed 174 points to finish ahead of Section Four (169.5) and pre-tournament favorite Section Six with 160. The green-clad contingent had two champions among their six finalists, and had a total of 10 place-winners. Winning state titles were Long Beach teammates Rich Santana (37-0) at 119 and James (Scotty) Graham (29-1) at 215 pounds. Santana overcame a 5-0 deficit to Jeff Lewis (Valley Central), to post an exciting 3-0 overtime victory and Graham avenged an earlier season loss to Pat Halpin (Baldwinsville) and recorded a close 7-6 decision. In the championship finals there were two all-Long Island match-ups; Jeff Haise (34-2-2) of Babylon caught East Meadow's Mark Friscano in a foot sweep takedown and guillotened him for an 8-3 decsion at 98, and Sachem's Wayne Wilson (31-1) posted a solid 10-2 decision over junior Steve Shippos III of Baldwin at 167 pounds. In a battle of unbeaten state champions, Pine Bush freshman Troy Bouzakis (35-0) defeated junior Lou Roselli (34-1) of Royalton-Hartland, 9-5, to claim the 105-pound title and earned the OSW Award. Senior Jeff Prescott (40-0) of Olean was unstoppable, and registered an 18-2 tech fall over Eric Kaufman (EH) in the 112-pound final, and claimed his third state title. At 138 pounds, Dave Watson (34-1) of Burnt Hills, edged favorite Tommy Ryan (Wantagh), 2-0, in the semifinals, and went on to defeat Waverly's Chris Perry, 5-4, in the finals.

Mat Notes...
Unbeaten Dave Grabbenstatter (39-0) of Amherst posted a 6-3 decision over Adam Mariano at 177 pounds. Wantagh's three-time state placer Tommy Ryan (30-3) injured his calf muscle, and was forced to default to sixth place at 138. Jeff Haise became Babylon's first state champion for coach Bill DeSario.Troy Bouzakis, a freshman, captured his second state title and now boasts an overall mark of 66-0. The tandem of Rich Santana and "Scotty" Graham ran a daily two-mile jog to school every day, as Graham recalled, "It paid off, he's my best friend and to win state titles together is a dream come true." Speaking of tandems, Congratulations to Long Beach coaches, Paul Gillespie and Reggie Jones, Jr. on an outstanding season- a Nassau County team championship and two individual state champions. Four-time state place-winner Jeff Prescott (3-1-1-1) won his 120th straight match and finished his spectacular career with 162 victories. Former Huntington HS, 1986 state champions Gene McNeil and Drew Jackson, have made their marks at the NJCAAs. McNeil (Nassau CC) won the 126-pound class and Drew Jackson claimed the 167-pound crown, and helped to lead North Idaho State to the team title.

                                       1987 NYS CHAMPIONSHIP FINALS

Frank Fronhofer (Salem-2) dec. Lenny Combs (Madison-3), 5-1.
98- Jeff Haise (Babylon-11) dec. Mark Frisicano (East Meadow-8), 8-3.
105- Troy Bouzakis (Pine Bush-9) dec. Lou Roselli (Royalton-Hartland-6), 9-5.
112- Jeff Prescott (Olean-6) tech.fall Eric Kaufman (East Hampton-11), 18-2, 4:58.
119- Rich Santana (Long Beach-8) dec. Jeff Lewis (Valley Central-9), 5-5, 3-0 overtime.
126- Tom Billone (Spencerport-5) dec. Glen Rommel (Mepham-8), 4-2.
132- Tony Ferrara (Sidney-4) dec. Brian McGill (Cheektowaga-6), 7-2.
138- Dave Watson (Burnt Hills-2) dec. Chris Perry (Waverly-4), 5-4.
145- Doug Roemer (Horseheads-4) tech.fall. Mike Yanosik (New Hyde Park-8), 16-1, 4:36.
152- Rick Sadwick (Hilton-5) dec. John Lamar (Peru-7), referee decision.
167- Wayne Wilson (Sachem-11) dec. Steve Shippos (Baldwin-8), 10-2.
177- Dave Grabbenstatter (Amherst-6) dec. Adam Mariano (Comsewogue-11), 6-3.
215- Scotty Graham (Long Beach-8) dec. Pat Halpin (Baldwinsville-3), 7-6.
250- Rob Cole (Union-Endicott-4) pinned Chris Tironi (Mechanicville-2), 1:13.

at Cole Field House, College Park, Maryland

118-Ricky Bonomo (Bloomsburg, PA) dec. Jim Martin (Penn State), 8-4.
126-Bill Kelly (Iowa State) pinned Brad Penrith (Iowa), 6:31.
134-John Smith (Okla State) sup.dec. Gil Sanchez (Nebraska), 18-4.
142-Pete Yozzo (Lehigh) pinned Pat Santoro (Pitt), 3:52.
150-Tim Krieger (Iowa State) dec. Jin Heffernan (Iowa), 1-1, 2-1 OT
-Stewart Carter (Iowa State) dec.Ken Haselrig (Clarion, PA), 6-3.
167-Royce Alger (Iowa) dec. Kevin Jackson (Iowa State), 10-4.
177-Rico Chiapparelli (Iowa) dec. Darryl Pope(Cal State-Bakersfield), 5-2.
190-Eric Voelker (Iowa State) dec.Dave Dean (Minnesota), 4-3.
Hwt-Carlton Haselrig (Pitt-Johnstown) dec. Dean Hall (Edinboro), 4-2.

OSW - John Smith (Oklahoma State-134)

1. Iowa State..........133 points
      2. Iowa..................108
      3. Penn State.......... 97.5
      4. Oklahoma State....85.5
      5. Bloomsburg.........47.5

There were 9,600 spectators at the finals who watched Iowa State end Iowa's nine-year title reign, as the Cyclones captured four individual titles. Iowa State's head coach, Jim Gibbons, said, "I'm happy for us, it's great, but I feel sad for Iowa, because they could have set the record." The record he was referring to, was Yale won nine titles in a row in golf (1905-13) and Southern Cal won nine straight in track (1935-43). Lehigh's Pete Yozzo (1983 NYS champion from Sayville HS and missing from the photo), finished his collegiate career with a 100-13-3 mark. Bloomsburg State's Ricky Bonomo won his third NCAA crown. ISU's Bill Kelly (28-2-4) caught defending NCAA champion Brad Penrith (Windsor HS) in a "spadle" and clinched the team title for the Cyclones with his stunning fall, as only 29 seconds were remaining in the bout. OSW winner John Smith avenged his only loss of the season with a superior decision over Gil Sanchez, and finished the year with a 43-1 record. Unbeaten Royce Alger (35-0) of Iowa, defeated tough Kevin Jackson (Iowa State), 10-4, for the 167-pound title. NYS had five All-Americans, the aforementioned Penrith and Yozzo, along with Al Palacio (Long Beach), who finished 7th at 118 for North Carolina, Andre Miller (Brentwood), 8th at 142 for Wilkes, Glen Lanham (Lindenhurst), 5th at 158 for Oklahoma State, Brian Kurlander (Brighton), 8th at 158 for James Madison and Dan Mayo (Sachem), 3rd at 177 for Penn State...