At the Nassau County Championships, Farmingdale won the team title with 95.5 points, finishing ahead of Bellmore-Kennedy (73.5) and Massapequa (46.5). The Dalers crowned three champions; Paul Weissberg(126), Jerome Williams(145) and Jim Teatom at 155 pounds. The JFK Cougars were led by unbeaten junior Steve Hunte(29-0) at 132 and Jon Stoll at 167 pounds. The MHS Chiefs also garnered two championships, as retruning state place-winner Tim Granowitz prevailed  with an 8-2 decision over the Dalers' Bob Founds at 138 and Don Mayorga defeated Farmingdale's Mitch Marsicano,14-4, at 215 pounds. Other standouts were; unbeaten; Rich Appelbaum(27-0) of Lawrence at 98, Glenn Reed(105) of Valley Stream South, Ivan Mitchell(Great Neck South) who edged  Farmingdale's Jim Dixon, 3-1 ot, at 112,  Ero Valesio(119) of MacArthur who pinned Island Trees' Mike O'Connor at 119 and Dino Radini of Valley Stream North at 177 pounds.
   At the Suffolk County Championships, defending team champion Brentwood coasted to their fourth consecutive championship under the legendary Joe Campo. The Indians amassed 94 points to comfortably outdistance Huntington (67) and Lindenhurst (46). The upset of the finals occurred at 155 pounds, as Huntington's Charlie Gadson upended returning state runner-up Pete Galea(Brentwood), in a wild match and emerged with a 9-7 victory. For that accomplishment, Gadson was selected the tournament's outstanding wrestler. Another great final bout saw Huntington's Cipriano Roman defeat Deer Park's Nick Gallo,11-8, at 105 pounds. Winning titles for Brentwood were Jerry Goodfellow(98), defending state champion, unbeaten Bob Antonacci (26-0-1) at 126 , John Berthel(132) and Curtis Smith at 215 pounds. Sucessfully defending their county  titles were West Babylon  teammates, undefeated Lenny  Integlia(27-0) at 138 and Paul Bruns at 167 pounds. Two schools earned their first ever Suffolk County champion, as Comsewogue's Don Jantzen decisioned favored John Brodmerkel(Lindenhurst), 7-3, at 115 and Babylon's Bob Morgan captured the 122-pound crown with a 14-4 decision over Jim Boyd of Centereach.
   At the 10th annual New York State Intersectional Championships, Section Eight (Nassau County) won its sixth state mat title in 10 years, as they tallied 83.5 points to narrowly defeat Section Five (Rochester area) with 82. Rounding out the team scoring was Section Three(79), Section Six(59) and defending team champion Section Eleven with 58.5 points. For the first time in  state tournament history, the innovation of "wrestle-backs" were installed and probably propelled Section Eight to their team title. The green-cladded contingent were led by Rich Applebaum(31-0) of Lawrence who scored on a takedown in the final 30 seconds to nipped Brentwood's Jerry Goodfellow,3-2 ot, at 98 pounds, and junior Steve Hunte(30-0) of Bellmore-Kennedy, who dominated Sinclair Houtman(Ithaca-4),13-0,
at 132 pounds. MacArthur's Ero Valesio(22-1) was taken down nine times in a 20-8 defeat at the hands of sophomore Dan Hunt(West Genesee-3) for the 119-pound title. Section Five crowned three champions; Rory Whipple(Irondequoit) at 155, the OSW winner Dwight Cartwright(Kesequa) at 177 and Dave Hept of Rush Henrietta at 215 pounds. Winning crowns for Section Eleven were two-time champion Bob Antonacci(30-0-1) of Brentwood who decisioned Keith Cotroneo(East Rochester-5), 2-0, at 132 and Lenny Intreglia(31-0) of West Babylon at 138 pounds. Bob Sloand, a returning state finalist from 1971, of Niagara-Wheatfield-6 was impressive as he won four matches en route to the 105-pound title. Ramapo HS-9 crowned two individual champions among its three finalists; gaining crowns were Joe Goldsmith(112) and Jim Horvath at 167 pounds.

                                      1972 NYS CHAMPIONSHIP FINALS

98- Appelbaum(Lawrence-8) dec.Goodfellow(Brentwood-11), 3-2 ot.
105- Sloand(Niagara-Wheatfield-6) pinned Chapelle(Canandaigua-5), 2:48.
112- Goldsmith(Ramapo-9) pinned Tundo(Frontier-6), 1:18.
119- Hunt(West Genesee-3) dec.Valesio(MacArthur-8), 20-8.
126- Antonacci(Brentwood-11) dec. Cotroneo(East Rochester-5), 2-0.
132- Hunte(Bellmore-Kennedy-8) dec. Houtman(Ithaca-4), 13-0.
138- Intreglia(West Babylon-11) dec. Marriott(Herkimer-3), 11-4.
145- Capone(Watertown-3) dec. Monroe(Ardsley-1), 4-3.
155- Whipple(Irondequoit-5) dec. Manning(Ramapo-9), 10-9.
167- Horvath(Ramapo-9) dec. Stevens(Fulton-3), 14-5.
177- Cartwright(Kesequa-5) pinned Hinkle(Cortland-4), 3:26.
215- Hept(Rush-Henrietta-5) pinned Smith(Brentwood-11), 1:08.
250- Jurgens(Hendrick-Hudson-1) pinned Grmusha(Tonawanda-6), 1:34.


118- Greg Johnson(Michigan State) defeated Gary Breece(Oklahoma), 9-5.
126- Pat Milkovich(Michigan State) defeated Chris Quigley(Illinois State), 4-2.
134- Gary Barton(Clarion State) defeated Phil Parker(Iowa State), 8-6.
  142- Tom Milkovich(Michigan State) defeated Larry Owings(Washington), 8-4.
150- Wade Schalles(Clarion State) pinned Jarrett Hubbard(Michigan), 3:52.
158- Carl Adams(Iowa State) defeated Stan Dziedzic(Slippery Rock), 7-4.
167- Andy Matter(Penn State) defeated Keith Abens(Iowa State), 6-2.
177- Bill Murdock(Washington) defeated Johnny Panning(Minnesota), 10-1.
190- Ben Peterson(Iowa State) wbdefault over Emil Dellere(Princeton), 1:09.
Hwt- Chris Taylor(Iowa State) defeated Greg Wojciechowski(Toledo), 6-1.


     1. Iowa State............99          
     2. Michigan State......84           
     3. Oregon State........80
     4. Oklahoma State....79
     5. Iowa...................45

OSW Award- Wade Schalles(Clarion State - 150 pounds)