At the Nassau County Championships, East Meadow won the team title over arch-rival and runner-up Massapequa, and Farmingdale finished in third place in the team standings. The Jets crowned two champions and were led by unbeaten John Cuomo (28-0) at 145 and Russ Poore (29-1) at 165. Poore edged Massapequa's Rudy Fiorvanti, 2-1, for the county title and avenged his earlier loss to Fiorvanti in the finals of the South Shore Championships.The Chiefs had one champion, Gary Jaeger (28-1) in the newly-formed 185-pound class. Other winners were Tom Lang (98) of Calhoun, Eric Waters (105) of Farmingdale, freshman Steve Hunte (115) of Bellmore-Kennedy, Mepham's two-time titlist Joe Savino (130), who was selected the outstanding wrestler in the tournament, Rich Kowalchuk (25-0) at 175 of Hicksville and Phil LaPorta of Valley Stream Central at 275 pounds.
     At the Suffolk County Championships, Brentwood outscored Amityville, 120 points to 60 and crowned four champions, including coach Joe Campo's son, Mike (123) who defeated Pete Pappas (Amityville), 3-1 and Carl Adams' younger brother Ron who edged Pete's twin brother,Tom, 3-2 for the 130-pound crown.The Pappas brothers had defeated both Campo and Adams earlier in the season in their dual meet. Lindenhurst finished in third place with 51 points and claimed two titles. Returning champion, Jesse Holiday won the 215-pound crown and teammate Bill Artus claimed the 175-pound class. Smithtown's Jack Spates successfully defended his title, as he beat Brentwood's Dave Larrache, 8-3, for the 107-pound crown and won the OSW Award. In one of the toughest weights in the tournament, the 115-pound class, Sal Lanuto of Walt Whitman emerged as champion, as he defeated sophomore and unseeded, Bob Antonucci (Brentwood), 6-5, in the final. Other champions included, Dennis Hewitt (Half Hollow Hills) at 155, Bo Bolander (West Babylon) at 165 and Riverhead's Tim Jayne at 185 pounds.
     At the 8th annual New York State Intersectional Championships, Section Three (Syracuse area) won their first sectional team title, as they totaled 91 points to finish ahead of Section Eight (81) and Section Eleven (57). The gold-cladded contingent had three state champions; Bob Medina (123) of Baldwinsville, Mike Phillips (215) of Cooperstown and Keith Rose of Watertown in the unlimited class. Phillips upset previously unbeaten, Jesse Holiday, 3-0, in the opening round and was voted the tournament's outstanding wrestler and Rose edged Brentwood's Ray Miro, 6-5, in the semi-finals and pinned Ben Hill (Mt. Vernon) in the title bout. Section Eight had won this annual event five of the previous seven years, also garnered three titles; Tom Lang (98) of Calhoun and East Meadow teammates, John Cuomo (145) and Russ Poore at 165 pounds. Lang defeated Long Island rival, Larry Goodfellow of Brentwood, 10-6, Cuomo pinned Mike Miller (Caledonia-Mumford) in 5:05 and Poore outscored Charles Wright (Cortland), 7-3. Nassau also had four finalists; Eric Waters dropped a 5-1 decision to Jack Spates (30-0), Joe Savino was pinned by slick Jim Guizotti of Maryvale, Rich Kowalchuk was leading in his match and was clamped at 5:06 mark by East Rochester's Tim Gay and Gary Jaeger ran into a buzz saw and was flattened in the third period, by Dana Ellis (27-0, 24 pins) of Chenango Forks. Suffolk's other champion was Sal Lanuto who won four bouts en route to his state title and in the final, he defeated tough Dan Monroe (West Genesee), 13-6. Section Four, winners of two sectional titles, added two other champions, John Cuyler (137) of Elmira Free Academy and Ricky Greene of Union-Endicott who outpointed Dennis Hewitt (29-2), in a hard fought, 7-4 verdict, for the 155-pound crown.

   For the first time,  a lack of pre-meet seedings was put into effect. In the previous state meets, efforts were made to keep wrestlers from Sections Four, Eight and Eleven from meeting in early-round competition, thus keeping them "alive" and piling up points. This was done by seeding grapplers from these sections, keeping them apart in the brackets.This past practice handicaps the chances of the other sections, so the custom has been dropped. Also, for the first time, an Outstanding Wrestler was chosen by the New York State Scholastic Sportswriters Association. There were  5,000 spectators for the championship finals at the Onondaga County War Memorial.
                                    1970 NYS CHAMPIONSHIP FINALS

Tom Lang (Calhoun-8) dec. Larry Goodfellow (Brentwood-11), 10-6.
107- Jack Spates (Smithtown-11) dec. Eric Waters (Farmingdale-8), 5-1.
115- Sal Lanuto (Walt Whitman-11) dec. Dan Monroe (West Genesee-3), 13-6.
123- Bob Medina (Baldwinsville-3) dec. John Chakamakas (Guilderland-2), 3-1.
130- Jim Guizotti (Maryvale-6) pinned Joe Savino (Mepham-8), 2:50.
137- John Cuyler (Elmira Free Academy-4) dec. Karl Swerdowski (Lowville-3), 8-3
145- John Cuomo (East Meadow-8) pinned Mike Miller (Caldonia-Mumford-5), 5:05.
155- Ricky Greene (Union-Endicott-4) dec. Dennis Hewitt (Hal Hollow Hills-11), 7-4.
165- Russ Poore (East Meadow-8) dec. Charles Wright (Cortland-3), 7-3.
175- Tim Gay (East Rochester-5) pinned Rich Kowalchuk (Hicksville-8), 5:06.
185- Dana Ellis (Chenango Forks-4) pinned Gary Jaeger (Massapequa-8), 5:28
215- Mike Phillips (Cooperstown-3) pinned Paul Ciccone (Suffern-9), 4:57.
Unl- Keith Rose (Watertown-3) pinned Ben Hill (Mt. Vernon-1), 5:14.

at Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois

Greg Johnson (MichState) dec. Ray Stapp (OklaState), 1-1,1-1, Judges decision.
126- Dwayne Keller (OklaState) dec. Randy Payne (Pitt), 8-0.
134- Darrell Keller (OklaState) dec. Joe Carstensen (Iowa), 12-2.
142- Larry Owings (Wash) dec. Dan Gable (IowaSt), 13-11.
150- Mike Grant (Oklahoma) dec. Robert Ferraro (IndianaSt), 6-1.
158- Dave Martin (IowaSt) dec. Bruce Trammell (Ohio), 5-4.
167- Jason Smith (IowaSt) dec. Phil Henning (Iowa), 8-7.
177- Chuck Jean (IowaSt) dec. Jim Crumley (OregonSt), 8-6.
190- Geoff Baum (OklaSt) dec. Robert Rust (Syracuse), 9-1
Hwt- Jess Lewis (OregonSt) dec. Greg Wojciechowski (Toledo), 9-2.

OSW- Larry Owings (Washington, 142)
MOST FALLS- Dan Gable (Iowa State, 142, five in 22:08)

  1. Iowa State ................99 points
  2. Michigan State ..........84
  3. Oregon State ............80
  4. Oklahoma State ........79
  5. Iowa .......................45

In seven years of high school and collegiate wrestling, Dan Gable had a remarkable record of 181 wins, 100 of them in varsity competition at Iowa State. He entered the NCAA Finals with a 33-0, record and had 31 falls on the season, before the crushing defeat at the hands of sophomore Larry Owings. Gable was 64-0 at West Waterloo HS, Iowa, and now finishes with an 181-1 career mark. Owings had one loss during the season, a 7-5 decision at 150 pounds, to Oklahoma's Mike Grant. When Dan Gable was awarded his second-place medal, he received a two minute standing ovation, Larry Owings, first place-winner, also received an ovation of approximately one minute. Attendance for the three day tourney was 30, 357 and the finals drew 7,785 spectators. Dwayne and Darrell Keller are the first twins to win NCAA championships since Merle and Burl Jennings of Michigan State in 1941-42. NCAA finalist, Pitt's Randy Payne (126), a freshman, hails from Sidney HS, and was a two-time New York State champion. Another former NYS champ, sophomore Carl Adams (Brentwood), now wrestles for Iowa State, he won the Big 8 championship and had three victories in the 150-pound class.