By Jim & Tony Nordland

     Many champions are amongst the top 120 wrestlers featured in the Long Island Individual Rankings. Only one state champion is in the field, 2010 winner
Mark West of Hauppauge who will compete in the 120-pound class.
     Nassau County has four returning champions;
Krishna Sewkumar (106) of Long Beach, Robert Person (113) of BJFK, Dylan Palacio (152) of Long Beach and Plainedge's Andrew Jones at 182. Mark Raghunandan (LB) won a Nassau title in 2010, earned a wild card berth and finished as a finalist at the 2011 state meet, he is currently top-ranked at 113 pounds.

     Suffolk's five returning titlists include;
Nick Piccininni (106) of Ward Melville, Sean McCabe (120) of Connetquot, Commack's CJ Labate (126), James Dekrone (138) of John Glenn and Longwood's Nick Hall who will compete at 145-152 pounds. The CHSAA has six returning winners; Freddy Dunau (St. Anthony's) and Pat Skinner (Kellenberg), both are state medalists and in the 113-pound class. Other champions include Kellenberg teammates, Chris Vono (120) and Chris Federlein (126), along with the tandem of St. Anthony's Jamel Hudson (138) and Andrew Auriemma at 220 pounds.

Mat Notes...
   Seven other grapplers earned medals at the 2011 NYS Championships including runner-up James DeKrone, bronze medalists Nick Piccininni, Sean McCabe and Dylan Palacio. Also earning All-State honors were Nick Hall (4th), teammate Corey Rasheed, along with Jamel Hudson, both Rasheed and Hudson finished fifth in their repective weight classes.
Click here for CURRENT RANKINGS...
Mark West of Hauppauge
James Dekrone from John Glenn
Dylan Palacio of Long Beach